Raymond William Ernest Holmes, NX33348.

Lesley Hewitt to 2/3 PIONEER BATTALION

I would be grateful if anyone could tell me anything about my uncle, Raymond William Ernest Holmes, NX33348. He passed away in 2004. It is my belief that he served in the Pioneers from its inception until he was medically evacuated from Tarakan at the end of the war. I am particularly interested in photos. Thank you in anticipation of a reply.

One thought on “Raymond William Ernest Holmes, NX33348.”

  1. Ray Holmes’ service record has been digitised and it is viewable on the website of the National Archives of Australia http://www.naa.gov.au .
    On the Home screen, all you have to do is enter his service number where it says Search… Collection (just overtype the word Search) and click the blue button. On the results screen, just click where it says View digital copy.
    Ray Holmes and his family lived next door to our place at Arncliffe in Sydney when I was a child, in the 50s and 60s. Good people.

Leave a comment